Spasmodic Baking: Simple Sugar Cookies

As a general rule of thumb, I’m not to be trusted in the kitchen. However, I’m slightly better with the oven. I sporadically bake cake and cookies and the like (you can count on it around my birthday), and it usually turns out kind of tasty. In “Spasmodic Baking”, I share recipes I’ve done.

A couple weeks ago now, it was my grade’s turn to help bring snacks to youth ministry. Normally, I would be one of those majority who doesn’t make any effort and just comes and enjoys the snacks, but for some reason I felt like I should bring something, and then of course I was baking.

I really wanted to bake, but it was already giving of more time than was comfortable. So I decided to make the simplest cookies I could. Like it-can’t-get-any-easier than this simple. Google found me this. Off I went.

A disclaimer note: Of course, as it is with most “super easy” recipes, beware, tis only so for those who know how to bake. ‘Beginner’ and ‘easy’ are very separate, and personally, until I gained some experience baking, any recipe advertised as ‘super quick’ or ‘easy’ wasn’t actually. You may bumble if you’re not familiar with basic baking things, but you can ask someone. Hopefully your mom knows.

Ingredients (all things I wanted to already be in my kitchen, and were):

  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 sticks of butter, at room temperature
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

The only ‘difficult’ thing here is the creaming step, and I’ll say what I’ve said before: room temperature butter is very important. If you must, you can soften it in the microwave for a bit beforehand.

The oven goes at 375 F.

  1. Combine the flour, baking soda, and baking powder in a bowl.
  2. Cream together the butter and sugar in another bowl.
  3. Beat the egg and vanilla into the butter/sugar.
  4. Blend in the dry ingredients bit by bit (not all at once).
  5. Roll into little balls and bake on ungreased foil for around 10 minutes or until golden. The tops will crack open prettily.
  6. Once they come out of the oven, let them cool on the sheets for a bit (this is important or they’ll come apart) and then let them cool more on cooling racks.

For some reason, I had some really small, tiny cookies because I was far underestimating the size of cookies. I guess I was trying to make as many as possible since the youth ministry is big, but I went too small for a couple of batches. I also had some browner ones and lighter ones; it got really varied because I forgot about one batch in the oven for two too many minutes.

Since I was just bringing it to share, I ended up piling them all on paper plates, and they received a captioning card something like, “Sugar Cookies (small or big, cooked or cooked a little more, solid or cookie cracked, all the same)” (they all did taste the same).

Due to different things, I didn’t come out to have snacks until way after everyone else was released to, but when I finally came out, the cookies were completely gone, plates and all. All I was hoping was people would like them, and it sounds like they were? I couldn’t quite watch them go or see to know, but my friend said when she went to have one they were gone. Left to guess how good they were, I suppose.

Spasmodic Baking: Simple Sugar Cookies

2 thoughts on “Spasmodic Baking: Simple Sugar Cookies

  1. WHAT you didn’t taste test?! Hehe I almost never get to taste test my culinary skillz before boy takeover. XD

    Also kudos to you for baking this (stressful, timeless, frustrating) part of the year!

Thoughts

